Digital Content vs. Physical Content

This is a very interesting study conducted about students / kids consuming more and more digital content. I know I much prefer digital content on 2 levels:

  • Environmental reasons – decrease in the use of paper
  • Flexibility – once something is digital, you can manipulate it, adapt it, share it (assuming you have the appropriate rights to do so with the document)

I prefer to rent movies on the iTunes store now. I purchase my music digitally and I love that I can purchase a single from an album and not the entire album (if I so choose). I love that my computer holds all of my teaching documents. I seldom rely on a paper-based system. I think we need to move towards this mode of operation if we are to embark on teaching 2.0, we need to move closer and closer to this way of sharing documents – but in more ways that we currently do. Obviously students prefer it, don’t we owe it to them? Read the results for yourself. 

http://www.npd.com/press/releases/press_090107a.html

Leave a comment